Heavy Metal Presents: Gates, Vol. 1 - The Ascension

After months of planning, listening and coordination, the official soundtrack to Heavy Metal magazine’s first webcomic, Gates, is finally available for download on iTunes and AmazonMP3.

This is Heavy Metal magazine’s first soundtrack in over ten years, and only their third soundtrack, including the groundbreaking original that was released for the film in 1981.

As you know by now, this soundtrack benefits the Ronnie James Dio “Stand Up And Shout Cancer Fund.” Dio was on the original 1981 soundtrack singing “Mob Rules” as a member of Black Sabbath.

Ronnie James Dio was a big influence across the board — on the comic, on the bands — and with his involvement in the original soundtrack, it just made sense to donate all proceeds to the cancer fund set up in his name.

LoveKrafty and Inside The Black created all-new music to accompany the comic, and other artists were brought on board to complete the comic’s music companion, including Black ‘N Blue, Hemoptysis, and Deltanaut (featuring Nick Menza). Other artists were selected from a worldwide search for up-and-coming and underground talent including rising stars such as Rusty Eye and Friend Slash Lover who have been frequenting LA’s Sunset Strip.

This soundtrack is a return to form, mirroring the intent of the original, bringing together various genres, from rock, to metal, to electronica, all serving the storyline and tone of the comic, while adding depth, dimension and meaning to the comic.

Without further ado, here is the full track listing, now available for download on iTunes and AmazonMP3, benefiting the Ronnie James Dio “Stand Up And Shout Cancer Fund.”

1. “Introduction”
2. “Never Forever” – Elysion
3. “M.O.D.” – Hemoptysis
4. “Is This Over Now?” – Inside The Black
5. “River” – Nineball
6. “The Changing Face of Basements” – Kevin Bryce
7. “Cowboy” – The Odd Wedding
8. “I Got A Gun” – LoveKrafty
9. “Fools Bleed” – Black ‘N Blue
10. “Video” – CrimsonFaced
11. “Of Titans” – Elysion Fields
12. “The Entity (Ghostly Lust)” – Rusty Eye
13. “This Violent Earth” – HavocHate
14. “Where Have I been All My Life” – Friend Slash Lover
15. “The King” – Deltanaut
16. “The Washing Machine Song” – Jordan Reyne
17. “Gates Theme” – LoveKrafty

I personally would like to give a big shout ou to all of the bands on the soundtrack who came together for a great cause. All of us in one way or another have been touched by cancer and by purchasing this music, you can get an amazing soundtrack and help fight a terrible disease–In the name of Ronnie James Dio.